Perplexing Actions

I seem to be a bit perplexed  by why Colin Kaepernick is still in the news for his protest.  Don’t get me wrong I agree that his blatant disrespect for the national anthem was wrong.  Although his intentions were good, he could have gone about it differently.  No one even focuses on why he is protesting anymore just on his actions.  So, the other night I was watching the game between the 49ers and the Rams.  I noticed that he was kneeling during the singing of the national anthem.  Later, he was on sports center again for his actions.

We stand for the singing of the national anthem as a sign of respect. In football you kneel as a sign of respect for an injured player.  Perhaps he realized his actions were not acceptable, so he used another form of respect during the singing of the national anthem. So if the issue is respect, he is showing respect just in a different way.  Which technically means his attempt to be a radical did not last long and he is not truly the radical the media is trying to make him out to be.  I mean his actions do not represent the stand he is trying to take.  If you are really upset about the oppression of black people, stand up and do something.  Helping those who are oppressed is a selfless act that should bring about change and reform.  What he is doing is not changing anything, well that’s not totally true, it does change the amount of press he gets daily and weekly.  I become even more perplexed as I type this because not standing for the national anthem is not bring about social change it is confusing our children.  I’m all about “standing” for what is right in order to bring about change but your decision not to stand has not made a difference and has only catapulted you to the spot light.  As I close I am still perplexed as to the outcome he was seeking and I really want to know if he actually thought this would create social change. 

Leave a Reply

