Complete to Incomplete

When you are 100% and you are in a relationship with someone who is not 100%, it won’t be long until you are not 100%. I knew who I was when I entered this relationship. This man has chipped away at me so much over the years that I am no longer 100%. I’m so far from where I use to be that I’m unrecognizable to myself. People have said for years another person completes them. I was complete before I entered this relationship. Sure I had my issues but being whole and complete was not one of them. Over the course of this relation, which is a span of eighteen years, I am no longer whole or complete. I have let someone take me away from me. The me I’m supposed to be. The sad thing about it is I didn’t even realize he had taken so much from me until someone came and reminded me of who I am and what I am worth. I deserve so much more than this. I guess I knew I deserved better all along but unfortunately I was content with the situation. I was walking around in a fog and did not know it. I had become so accustomed to wearing these masks; they had become a part of me. Until one day someone unveiled what was behind the mask. I like, no I loved what was revealed. That person is beautiful inside and out. She is deserving and worthy. She is phenomenal, beautiful, and excellent. That person is me the real me. No false pretenses, no pretending, no hiding, no shame. I am who I am the way God made me. I am fearfully and wonderfully made. Except me for who I am and not for what you think I should be.
Today I am broken but my tomorrow is so much better than my today because I will be whole again but this time no one is going to break me or take anything from me that will make me less than I am called to be. You didn’t complete me, I was already complete. You made me incomplete.

Leave a Reply

